Virgil K. Webster Scholarship

Application Deadline

June 30, 2016
(for 2016/2017 academic year)
Virgil K. Webster Application Registration form

The Virgil K. Webster Scholarship is awarded to persons wishing to obtain a graduate degree in agronomy. It was originally established for persons with extension experience wishing to obtain a graduate degree in Agronomy leading to specialist positions in extension but has since been modified to include students pursuing a MS Agronomy Distance Education degree. The award is a $1000 scholarship and is presented annually to selected individuals. The number of scholarships awarded each year depends on the earnings of principal held by Iowa State University Foundation, the investing group at ISU. In a typical year, 4-5 scholarships will be awarded.

To be considered, student must submit a letter stating his/her desire to be considered for the scholarship and clearly state the reasons he/she is competitive for this scholarship by the given deadline. Previous work experience and goals of the student once the degree is obtained should be stated in the letter


  • Student must be admitted into and active in an ISU agronomy graduate degree program to be eligible.
  • The student must be registered for at least one course in the fall, spring or summer semesters when the award is given. New students, students that have completed coursework outside the MS Agronomy program, and students that have completed coursework in the program are eligible as long as they plan to enroll in at least one course during the fall, spring, or summer terms of the award year. In addition, students who have previously received the award are eligible every award period as long as they meet the eligibility requirements.
  • Financial need may be one criterion considered by the Scholarship Committee, and preference will be given to those who do not have other support.
  • Other criteria considered will be information contained in letters of reference and student transcripts (these are on file within the Department as part of the graduate admission process).
  • $500 will be awarded for two semesters (fall, spring or summer) during which the award is given and will be in the form of credit applied toward the student's university tuition bill.
  • Students can apply every award period even if awarded the scholarship previously.
  • The student(s) awarded the scholarship will be notified within one month after the application deadline.
  • The scholarship award period is an academic year. This includes consecutive fall, spring or summer semesters.


Virgil K. Webster graduated from Iowa State College with a degree in Farm Crops and Soils in 1925. He was a County Agricultural Agent in Palo Alto County (Northwest Iowa) from 1927 to 1932. From 1932 to 1943 he served in the Office of Farm Management and the Soil Conservation Service. In 1943 he rejoined ISU as an area agronomist serving Northeast Iowa (Delaware County) and remained with the Extension Service until his retirement in 1967.

Virgil (Vergil) K. Webster from ISU 'Bomb' Yearbook, 1925

The Virgil K. Webster Award was established in 1977. It was originally intended for persons with Extension experience wishing to obtain a graduate degree in agronomy leading to specialist positions in Extension. In 2003, with the permission of the Webster family, the award was modified to include students pursuing a degree through the Master of Science in Agronomy Distance Education Program.